MedAID Health Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Tenacibaculosis in marine fish - 11 - 22 February 2019  

Page 3 / 3

(@jfbernardet)

Hi everybody! I have an answer to one of the many questions from Dolores. Some T. maritimum strains do display different colony morphology on marine agar 2216 (Difco). While most colonies are flat, with irregular to rhizoid edges, mucoid consistency, sticky and very adherent to the agar, creamy white to very pale yellow, some other colony types may appear on the same plate, usually smaller colonies with a raised center, like a wart. You may feel like the culture is not pure, but it actually is; upon subcultivation, each colony yields a mix of colony types. I have no experience of FMM, so I cannot compare colony morphology on this medium with marine agar 2216.

ReplyQuote
(@le-breton)

Dear Dolores,

Just few comments regarding your questions:

Some recent work seems to give some indications that the Tenacibaculum strains are capable of biofilm production (in that work it was Tenacibaculum dicentrarchi (Master thesis of Oyro / 2018) But for various reasons I will not recommend using Chlorine for disinfection. Chlorine activity reduce at pH higher than 7.5 which is the case in seawater usually, in presence of organic material which is also often the case in RAS system even after a good sanitizing. To be efficient the system should be first clean and then disinfected with caustic soda (Ph 12 with a circulating solution at 2% of commercial caustic soda for 6 to 12h) Other bactericid product can be applied as well (including quaternary ammonium + glutaral)